The Institute

The refinement process of breeding techniques has led to numerous experiments and the elaboration of models that take into account all the variables typical of such a complex activity. It has also led to the improvement and the implementation of processes related to the genetic selection of reproductive subjects and analysis of the feeding phases. 

Italian snail breeding is characterized by exclusive outdoor production and a vegetable diet sown directly into the enclosures. There is therefore no use of concentrated industrial feed. The production methodology, which has been studied and exprimented on for over 40 years by the Institute of Eliciculture of Cherasco, considers the mediterranean or continental climatic conditions of our country. The entire production cycle takes place outdoors using mainly planted vegetable feed, resulting in limited management costs. The main advantages of the Italian system, now widely spread throughout the world, are the low cost of breeding and the quality of the mollusc meat, which is obtained by a completely natural diet that does not contain synthetic or industrial additives. In November 2016 a very important relationship was formed - perhaps one of the most prestigious in the world of food in Italy - between The International Institute of Eliciculture and The University of Gastronomic Sciences in Pollenzo (CN). A concrete relationship was established between the two institutes who share the same philosophy regarding natural production and sustainability. We chose to formalize this event on the premises of The University of Gastronomic Sciences of Pollenzo on April 3, 2017, celebrating the moment with a symbolic gesture.

The institute actively collaborates in research projects with Italian universities and supports many cultural initiatives in the international context by providing analysis and services utilising our skills. Thanks to the expansive effort abroad the Institute has contributed to the germination of complete natural cycle farms in Serbia, Romania, Croatia, Germany, France, Greece, Bulgaria, Russia, Spain, Bosnia, Tunisia, Argentina, Lebanon and Jordan.